US environment agency (EPA) - public database on risk assessments

Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) database.

http://www.epa.gov/hero

Access to the scientific studies used in making key regulatory decisions, including EPA's periodic review of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for six major pollutants.

HERO includes peer-reviewed literature used by EPA to develop its Integrated Science Assessments (ISA) that feed into the NAAQS review. It also includes references and data from the Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), a database that supports critical agency policymaking for chemical regulation.

On Trial - Chinese databases from Taiwan

EUL staff have arranged a free trial of two Chinese databases from Taiwan.

The trail period provides time for readers and library staff to assess the products. Please send feedback via Electronic Information Service Trials webpage where these services should soon appear. Or to your Liaison Librarian.

1. Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) http://www.airiti.com/teps/ec_en This is an on-line database offering the full-text of more than 700 Taiwan periodicals of different subjects in Arts, Humanities, Social Science. Science and Medicine. Interface in both Chinese and English.

Trial period: Mar 10 2009 ~ Apr 09 2009

2. National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) http://www.airiti.com/npmoln/
An image database of Chinese Art. Interface in both Chinese and English.

Trial period: Mar 10 2009 ~ Apr 09 2009